State Senator (AK-O)

Employer / Organization

Alaska State Senate District O

Next Election

Nov 08, 2022

Filing Window

Sep 01, 2021 - Jun 01, 2022


Made up of 20 Senators, the Alaska State Senate is the upper house of the bicameral Alaska State Legislature. Each Senator represents a district of about 35,512 residents, serving 4 year terms not subject to term limits. Every 2 years hald of the Senate is up for re-election. The Senate President is the preciding officer of the upper house in the Alaska State Legislature. While there are 10 standing committees of the Senate that range from communitiy and regional affairs to transportation, the Senate currently has 18 finance subcommittes that include administation and the University of Alaska committees. Primary responsibilities of a senator include: developing budget packages, making taxation decisions, passing legislation, allocating spending, and redistricting in collaboration with other senators and the house of representatives. Currently, Alaska State Legislators are paid $50,400 per year as a base salary rate.

Application Guidelines
1) Contact the State of Alaska Division of Elections office to confirm that your registered address qualifies you for the position you intend to run for, and that you meet other office specific qualifications. Inquire as to whether the position has a primary election before the general election and other important information. 2) Obtain and complete the required filing papers and submit the required filing papers to the Alaska Division of Elections office. These filing papers include the Filing Notification, Nominating Petition, Subscribers’ forms and a Financial Disclosure Statement. 3) Submit the required filing papers by June 1st, 2018 (This deadline always falls on June 1st, unless June 1st falls on a weekend, then the filing deadline is the Monday following June 1st). If you have any questions please contact the Alaska Division of Elections office by phone at (866) 952-8683. For more information see: And the Filing for Office Handbook:

Submit application to:
Alaska Division of Elections, Court Plaza Building, Juneau, AK, 99801, US